My Writer Side

Book Review: Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass
Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Title: Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass
Author: Eva Mason retold from Lewis Carroll
Publisher: Sterling Children’s Books, 2009

Who doesn’t know Alice? I think I don’t have to retell the synopsis of story, right?
I just really happy realizing it’s a children book so the english is reaaaaally easy to understand and as an Indonesian who can’t use english well, I don’t even need a single glimpse of dictionary when I read it so I could finish it ultra-fast! Hehe. Unimportant? Forget it. 😛

Yes, I admit that Eva Mason could rewrite it really good. She know the strong point of the story, the crucial event of the story, the best dialogues, and even the best gestures! It’s not so blabber here and there as the original version, and somehow that’s good for me!

One part that I love the most of the story (every story, actually) is dialogues. It fun to read how the characters are actually spit out what they thinking about in the words form and how they reply one another. In this story, I love it far more. Every single lines of dialogues and monologues is clever, genius, flowing, and interesting to see how they interact. Every characters is made strong, and that’s why the dialogues is alive.

I laughing so hard in this part:

"Are you an animal, a vegetable, or a mineral?" the Lion asked Alice.

Even Alice, who think that she’s the only one who had a sanity in that world, is obviously insane too! Maybe because she’s play in wonderland too often?

Beware, kid: Playing with the polecat will make you smell like them.

Let me admit it that I never read Alice in Wonderland for full version before. It often just reach a half and bit more and I’m done. I used to do not like Alice in Wonderland before because I think that it so absurd, and had a massive jumping plot that sometimes I couldn’t hold it. But now, no no, it’s not like my opinion is changed completely. There’s just many things that I finally learn from it.

First: The fairest way to treat our imagination is by letting it free.
Jump here and there, change the topic, make delusion, write it, write it, write it. Sometimes being mature is boring, where we must thinking about this and that, how logic is it? How believable the story? How neat the plot bunnies? How well the characters goes? What about the plothole? The setting? the motives? Argh, there’s so many things we have to think and arrange! And I’m the one who trapped in this kind of writer. But read this story just going wherever it wants, sometimes it bring back my childhood feeling that being passionate and illogical is allright and even relieving.

Second: To think something different from other is the crucial skill of writers.
Remember the argumentation beetween Queen Alice and the Red Queen? The Live Flowers talk about soil bed? The Humpty Dumpty part of the Un-birthday present? And his meaning of the Jabberwocky poem? OMG SUCH A GENIUS! I can’t help but laughing and stunning read all the lines. All of the imagination is as wild and free and innocent as childrens’s! Impressive!

Three: It’s important to replace the stereotype of fool-but-funny type of character with the clever-but-impressively-funny character for a children story!
I mean, really, children is a great imitator. If they always read about foolish characters in the children story they do think that being fool is allright, as long as it funny.

And, for everything, I love Chesire Cat ❤

bigpreview_Alice in Vonderland, Cheshire Cat

Somehow I get a think that Lewis Carrol is as mad as her characters here, but also as genius as them.

❤❤❤❤ of ❤❤❤❤❤ for Miss Alice, and Mad Hatter, and Chesire Cat, and Humpty Dumpty, and Red King and Queen, and White King and Queen, and sooooo many characters that I could mentioned one by one but have their own awesomeness ❤

Leave a Reply

